### MINUTES OF SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING - MONDAY, 16 MAY 2016

#### Present:

Councillor Callow (in the Chair)

#### Councillors

Blackburn Critchley Jackson Singleton Smith Brown Cross Kirkland Cain **Elmes** Matthews Stansfield Mrs Callow JP Galley O'Hara I Taylor Campbell Mrs Henderson MBE Owen L Taylor Clapham Hobson **Robertson BEM** L Williams D Coleman Humphreys Roberts T Williams G Coleman Mrs Wright Hunter Ryan Cox Hutton Scott

## In Attendance:

Neil Jack, Chief Executive
John Blackledge, Director of Community and Environmental Services
Alan Cavill, Director of Place
Dr Arif Rajpura, Director of Public Health
Karen Smith, Deputy Director of People (Adult Services)
Steve Thompson, Director of Resources
Mark Towers, Director of Governance and Partnerships / Monitoring Officer
Lorraine Hurst, Head of Democratic Governance
Yvonne Burnett, Democratic Governance Senior Adviser
Liz Wood, Civic and Member Services Officer

### **1 HONORARY ALDERMEN**

The meeting had been called under section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972 to consider conferring the title of Honorary Alderman to former councillors. Members were aware that at the meeting of the Council on 25 November 2015, it had been agreed to adopt the award to former councillors who had provided eminent services to the Council in serving a term of 15 years or longer. It had further been agreed at that meeting, that invitations would be extended to former councillors Henry Mitchell, Val Haynes, Sylvia Taylor, Peter Evans, Joyce Delves and Brian Doherty to be awarded the Honorary Alderman title.

Speeches of support were made in respect of the following proposed Aldermen who were in attendance: Councillors Galley and Jackson on behalf of Mrs Joyce Delves; Councillors T Williams and Mrs Wright on behalf of Mr Peter Evans; Councillors Ryan and Clapham on behalf of Mrs Val Haynes; Councillors M Callow and Owen on behalf on Mr Henry Mitchell; Councillors L Taylor and Stansfield on behalf of Mrs Sylvia Taylor.

# MINUTES OF SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING - MONDAY, 16 MAY 2016

Additional congratulations were offered by Councillors Blackburn and Williams and the Mayor.

**Motion**: Councillor Blackburn proposed (and Councillor T Williams seconded):

- '1. To confer the title of 'Honorary Alderman' of the Borough of Blackpool under section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972 to former councillors Joyce Delves, Brian Doherty, Peter Evans, Val Haynes, Henry Mitchell and Sylvia Taylor.
- 2. That Mr Brian Doherty be invited to attend the June meeting of the Council to receive his Honorary Alderman medal.'

**Motion carried**: The motion was submitted to the Council and was unanimously carried.

The Mayor then presented each recipient with a gift and the Honorary Aldermen were given an opportunity to address the Council.

# Mayor

(The meeting ended at 12.05pm)

Any queries regarding these minutes, please contact: Lorraine Hurst, Head of Democratic Governance

Tel: 01253 477127

E-mail: lorraine.hurst@blackpool.gov.uk